#1 2014-02-18 10:11:42

AlexG

Are there any bicycle insurance companies?

Hello, I am a newbie but I believe it is the right section of the forum to post this question.
I wonder if anyone has insured his bike with a stand-alone policy? I have 2 bikes , a road bike ( Cervelo R3 ) and a mountain bike ( Giant Anthem X29 ). Both bikes are relatevely new and I am afraid they might be stolen since bike theft rate is high in my neighborhood. I am currently keeping them in my backyard chained to a fence. But the backyard is very easy to get into.  I have a renters insurance policy and I am going to call them with a couple of questions I got about the coverage.

But are there stand-alone bike insurance policies available on the market, that will cover my bike no matter where it is and no matter what happens to it?

#2 2014-02-18 11:33:29

dougmc
Administrator

Re: Are there any bicycle insurance companies?

Your renter's policy probably covers theft of the bicycles.  Though the deductible may be higher than you prefer, so you could get a rider that covers them specially.

Call your insurer and ask what is covered and discuss other options.

They sound like nice bikes.  They need to be kept inside -- outside, somebody will eventually realize that they're there, and then make plans to make them theirs some night when you're not looking.  But at the very least, use U-locks rather than chains.  (Or maybe you just used "chained" generically -- I dunno.)

As for covering the bikes whatever happens to them, I dunno.  Theft should be fine wherever it happens (but you'll want receipts and serial numbers, of course) but if you want to cover crashes, I don't know about that.

#3 2014-02-19 15:48:35

TheCyclingAdmin

AlexG wrote:

Hello, I am a newbie but I believe it is the right section of the forum to post this question.